Drum Recording

buzzbuzz

We're supposed to go into the studio soon. I'm new to recording. I have a Mapex Saturn. We recorded last week w/ a guy(engineer) but he got replaced w/ another (better) guy. The new guy was there last time and listened to my drum tracks. He said the kick sounded like crap and when we came back in to start over, he would remove my front kick head. WTH? I also have a port on the head.
Any advice? Just doesn't sound tight to me but I'm not the 'expert'.

You can do either. It's a question of personal preference and the sound you're trying to get. What sort of music is it?

There are a ton of techniques for recording drums, and a the kick drum is usually the most difficult to get a good sound out of. Some people take the head off, some put the mic outside the head, some put it in the drum, some do both, there's also all the different angles and spots you can place the mic. There is no "right" way to record drums, if it sounds good it sounds good. Maybe you should try and work with him to try and get a sound that you both agree sounds good, instead of just writing him off so quickly.

Two thoughts came to mind. He might prefer a cleaner, less resonant sound. Either that or he feels he'll be able to control the sound better.

Agree with TNA, you could have a friendly chat with the engineer and see where the middle ground lies ... it might just be a matter of tuning and/or dampening.

What did you think of the kick sound on playback, Buzz? In the end, it's your recording and the sound should be as close as possible to what the bandleader or band as a whole thinks will best complement the tune.