I need help picking a drumset!

victornguyen99

Hey people, my names Victor and i'm looking to upgrade my drumset to a 5 piece. As of right now i'm using a 4 piece. I mostly play Indie,Rock,Pop, and Funk. My budget is around $400 for a Shell pack with tom mounts included. I'm looking at this Gretsch Renegade kit( http://www.gretschdrums.com/?fa=drums&sid=694 ). I found this kit Used at my local music store for $350. I know its a complete beginner kit, but i'm planning on getting it and sell the cymbals and stands that come with it. I'm also planning to upgrade the drumheads on this drumset. Could you guys tell me if I should get it? Is the price worth it? or should I get a different kit. Please recommend me a different kit if theres a better one out there! Thanks!

The Renegade is not the best when it comes to Gretsch. You would be much better off buying a better model, Catalina,or Renown, used or you will be right back here in a year asking the same questions. many used kits will be better than this GRetsch kit. good luck.

As the Mayor said, that kit will not be adequate for you in a very short while.
You need to set your sights a bit higher.
You could always add another tom to your existing kit until you save enough to buy a pro level kit.
Slowly add pro level cymbals at the same time.

Find a used 10" rack tom that is either a Tama Silverstar or one that matches your kit.
eBay has single drums constantly for sale.
You could even find a matching Silverstar kit to your 13" tom that has a 10" tom

a rack tom. maybe a 10in. im not sure. ive put at least $300 into my drum kit already

My advice.

Short term. Get another used Tama tom for under $100 and put the remaining money in the "my first pro kit" fund.

Long Term. Save $750. Buy a used/clearance pro-kit.

If you're set on buying an intermediate kit, every brand has nice ones. Get one that you think will be easy to resell later.