Developing a deep pocket

markusjj

I have been playing for 8 years with no lessons and I'm having trouble really setting a deep pocket. This became evident when I video taped myself playing a long to a Michael Jackson song (Don't laugh please). I had decent groove in the beginning but about halfway through, I lost significant feel of the song. Am I overplaying?

I use a metronome once in awhile when practicing but sometimes I just find it boring. I guess I just prefer to play along to songs and add my own chops into it.

So I guess I am just looking for advice on how to develop a good solid feel for the song and working on my pocket.

listen to/watch some steve jordan
he has pocket like NO ONE ELSE...

practice with some music with your only concerns being,
1. stay on time
2. no fills
let your groove be the embellishment for the song.

try to focus on the small things in your groove. when i am looking at the big picture, i tend to get bored and overplay.

also, on my snare head, i wrote "the GROOVE is HERE." (steve jordans dvd title. shh...)
its a good reminder to keep things solid and simple.

i have been playing for just about 10 years and this pocket/groove thing has only been a concern of mine for the past year or so. if you have any questions in particular about this, pm me. id be glad to help.

(ps. pocket looks and sounds so badass. everytime i go into gc and mess around, i keep it simple and rock solid. with, yes, small cool fills, but for the most part simple, and i get tons of compliments. you look like you really have your game together. plus, its about your sound more than chops or anything else. this is a musical instrument for crying out loud!)

Like TB says, lots of listening, practice, metronomes, a deep understanding of what behind, on , or ahead of the beat really means.

... but here's the kicker, IMO: Either you have it or you dont.