Negative Progress / Quitting

D

DSCRAPRE

I used to post around here somewhat regularly a few years back and recently started lurking again. In the intervening time I had played a fair deal with a couple of friends including a handful of casual gigs around the area, nothing too crazy. We stopped doing that after those guys went their separate ways. Most of my playing time has been devoted to playing along to music on my MP3 player. I know that it's not the best practice method, but I really have a hard time working out of books, doing practice routines etc. The disturbing thing that I've noticed is that, slowly but surely, my playing has become far less "capable" than it once was. My playing has become terribly sloppy, uncoordinated and out-of-time even compared to how it was at the beginning of this year. Songs I used to play well are now virtually impossible. I've been playing since early 2009 and I feel like I peaked about a year ago but it's been downhill since. Everyday it seems I somehow lose some level of ability.

I guess I don't have any questions for anybody or anything, I'm just very depressed about all of this, and I needed to vent. Quitting is becoming an increasingly attractive option considering that my potential musical prospects are nonexistent, and even if I did have those prospects, my rapidly deteriorating level of play would surely cripple my attempts at performance. Playing is enraging and not playing feels just as bad.

It's a real mess.

[EDIT: Like I said, I guess I don't have a real question, I just wanted to get this all out in the open]

Last edited:
Playing = Playing what you know
Practicing = Learning what you don't know.

Reignite the furnace and get to work.

DSCRAPRE:

Sad to hear about this. Having your ability to play degrade like this is not common. I quit playing for many many years and the only thing that suffered was my speed. It is kind of like riding a bicycle, once you learn, you can always ride it.