Hitting a creative wall

I've been drumming for almost two years now, i'm happy with my abilities thus far, but as of late introspection, i've concluded to the dilemma that i've become stagnant with creativity and such forth.

its like im playing the same things over and over again, just with a different twist as the day should entail.

any suggestions?

browse through the endless amounts of video here on the main page. You can always gleen new stuff from the long list of pros.

I would say that you are not hitting a "creative roadblock". It is simply a increase in awareness as to the substance of what you are playing and you are not happy with what you see. I have gone through that same situation and that is the conclusion I have come to from personal experience. I also recognize that that entire notion is coming from a place of arrogance in that you think your playing is top notch but in reality it isn't and you are struggling to see that reality with any form of acceptance.

BTW, I give this advice/insight in only the most constructive sense possible.

The cure is:

- Occasional breaks from playing

- Listening to Tons of Different music

Don't get too disappointed out over it. We all go through this in cycles.

Now - go to Amazon MP3 and find something you don't usually listen to.

So in capitulation, i just need to get literal about improvement, correct?

after all, you can only pussyfoot the learning process so much before you reach a fork in the road haha

When this happens to me, I pull out a book and force myself to play a regimented practice. Soon enough, my rebellious nature gets antsy at being forced to play a regimented curriculum, and I start thinking of things I'd rather play. Roadblock broken through.