What's with Zildjian hate??

Migaluch

Lately its been pretty clear to me that a lot of people (at least online) hate (or just don't prefer) Zildjian and love other cymbal manufacturers, especially Sabian. Being a new drummer, i can't say i am familiar with all of these companies' sounds, but i heavily favor Sabian's products. It seems that no one really gives Zildjian a lot of praise from what i have seen (though the Ks are liked a lot). Isn't Zildjian the original company, or at least the main one? And what about not so popularized brands, are they any good? What are the truths in the world of cymbals? Let a new drummer learn.

I've probably got it all wrong, but hey!

If they've been slagged off, it wasn't from me mate. I've always been a big fan and can't see that changing anytime soon. That said, I haven't purchased one for some years now.....I'm on a used Paiste Sig. vibe at present. But the Zil's will continue on my journey with me no matter what.

I don't think it's so much "hate", but the fact that SABIAN makes cymbals that appeal to a lot of people and their sound. And now companies like Bosphorus and Istanbul are catching to catch on in situations other than jazz. Maybe it's just a shift of things to come, always happens, always will.

Over the last 8 years I've endorsed Zildjian and they are a wonderful company, maintaining a family vibe and manufacturing world-class cymbals. Producers always compliment me on my cymbals and I've always been able to assemble the perfect set-up for any live gig.

I've heard many great cymbals over the years but Zildjian has always sounded the best to me.

If i could be a little more clear, perhaps it's not so much that people hate Zildjian, but it is the brand that receives the most criticism, if that helps.

Who hates Zildjian?

If you browse though all the photos posted around here, there are plenty of people with Zildjian set ups.

All my cymbals are Zildjian.

I love my Zildjian Hybrid K's.