gig kit.

baz

Silver Member
...I have been Jammimg with a really good bunch of people over the past few months.

Last night we did our first show, a fundraiser for the Christmas Hamper fund. It felt real good to play with good people in front of a good crowd once again.

It is an older grey ponytail crowd, with heavy honkytonk/country/gospell/classic rock roots, a nice laid back, low volume vibe. I have a ton of different cymbals, so naturally I have to overcomplicate things by mixing and matching to try and put together that perfect gig set up.

I had been doing the same with my drums and snare, trying to find that perfect versatile kit that would work for high or low volume, stick and brush smacking.

This is what I settled on.

These are my WMP 18x16, 15x13, 13x9, 14x6" edge snare. For cymbals, I go with MY faves wich include the 20" Manhattan, 18" el savbor, 17" hhxtreme, 16" thin, and 14" dark hats.

It's kind of funny in a way, I have a ton of stuff but I use very little of it. I see a downsizing in my future.

Barry

Last edited:
A very clean machine you have there.

A very clean machine you have there.

Oh yeah. I'd love to gig with a kit like that. Versatile setup and smaller sizes to keep from throwing your back out. Nice stuff.

...thanks guys.

I refer to this set up as a jazz kit on steroids. I really like the added warmth that I get using the 13 and 15 as opposed to the poppier sound from the 12 and 14. I played the entire evening using a pair of Ed Thigpen brushes, taped about half way up for that little extra thwack.

The evening went very well, and was a lot of fun. I can't wait to do this again.

Barry

...Namaste, and thank you aydee.

Music is like sex. You spend half your time thinking about it, the other half talking about it, and you can do it solo, but it is much more fun with others.

The guys that I played with have been together since the days of the eight track and vinyl.