Help a gear noob step up his game? (advice needed)

jamesc

Hey everybody, checking in because you guys are the bomb at what you do from what I've read. And I needed some serious expert opinions. I am a huge gear noob, but NOT when it comes to playing.

I'm currently playing on a PDP Mainstage (already know y'alls opinion on it lol), it was one of the worst buying decisions I've ever made as I started out with $700 I had earned and just looked up a kit on google with no research or playing put into it. and obviously it is sounding pretty shitty by now as I have learned to seriously play drums and have a skill set much beyond my medium. Feels like I'm hitting cardboard to be honest. I have spent much time learning on this kit, trying to tune it etc, and mostly keeping the stock heads on so I don't ruin any new ones during my learning process. I can never get the sound I want out of this kit, perhaps its my tuning, perhaps its the heads, but I hate it. The feel is degrading to my art form.

The good news is I may be able to resell it soon (at as much as $600), which blows my mind as I've been held back by my gear for years! and it is embarrassing how little I know about it to be honest.

I also own a few other drums including a really old Yamaha Stage Custom bass and two toms (they even have an old stage custom logo on the bass). I have ignored these pieces since I got them as they sounded so bad then. After doing some more research on here, I've heard Lots of good things about these, only problem being they have been kept in hot garages and not taken care of for 5-10 years before my friend gave them to me (and then in my hot garage for another 5 lol). I knew nothing about drums at the time and didn't even realize it is missing hardware on the bass drum when I played it LOL (6 lugs and bolts for the batter side) and still has stock heads, not tuned at all O_O