How long have you been playing?

I've been playing five years now. I practice whenever I can. With being at Uni my drums are at home so I only get to play them when I go home which is about once every two weeks. Bring on summer! I go and play on the electric kits in my local drum shop once or twice a week though! XD

Last edited:
Well, I haven't played at ALL today, it's a bit too early in the morning.

OHHHHHH!!! You mean HOW LONG have I been playing.
Well, lessee . . . I'm 50 now, i started kinda LATE actually, at age 16, so . . .

34 years!!!!
Wow!! I've been playing 34 years now . . . that's a LONG damn time.

basement drummer here, just 2 years, playing along the LP collection in a completely different way and exploring..... with my starter kit with "Klanky" cymbals.

Ive been playing drum set for about 4 years but I was in band at school for about two years before that. I usually practice about a half hour a day at home, plus band class at school which is an hour long.

I've been playing drums since I was 14, in the summer of 1997 (so..a little less than 12 years). Unfortunately, I'm not able to get in much solo practice becuase of my roommates. Most of my playing is done with my band every Monday, Thursday, and Sunday. I'm fortunate to have 2 kits- one for the band and one for my house- so when the opportunity to play presents itself (i.e. there's no one else in the house) I have a quick stretch, play some double strokes and paradiddles on the Real Feel, and go for it!!

Since 1966. But I have expanded and am enjoying playing other types of drums such as congas, djembe, bugarabu, tar, bendir, muzar, and percussion (shekere, krin, etc.).

GJS

Thirty years now...the practice session is broken down to about 1 1/2 hrs. since I don't have the time I had available 20 years ago. If I think in advance what I need to work on, then the practice time is more productive than sitting down and goofing around for four hours.