Poll: do you double bass?

James_E

How do I add a poll?

I'm #5.

1. Never, it's nonsense
2. Never, I get that it's need in some genres but I don't do it.
3. I fiddle with it, but not really alot
4. I wish I could, but it takes too much time to get good at it.
5. I'm working on it. Going to take a while, but I'll put the time in as I want to play music that typically requires it.
6. Love it. Work on it ALOT. I use it with the band.
7. I'm an expert. (200bpm 16ths and greater)

i have to say..... 2:)

How do I add a poll?

I'm #4.

1. Never, it's nonsense
2. Never, I get that it's need in some genres but I don't do it.
3. I fiddle with it, but not really alot
4. I wish I could, but it takes too much time to get good at it.
5. I'm working on it. Going to take a while, but I'll put the time in as I want to play that style of music.
6. Love it. Work on it ALOT. I use it with the band.
7. I'm an expert. (200bpm 16ths and greater)

# 2 for me.

#6 for me. I've been working on it for quite a few yr.and still nowhere close to where I want to be. I guess I'm slow and old. But I'll keep working on it.

I'm kind of a mix of 2 and 6, I used to play it a lot and be really good at it but recently I've been leaning towards the whole "it's not necessary all the time" sort of thing.

If I can find a way to tastefully throw it in there, depending on the music, I will. Some music requires it. Sometimes it's just a nice, quick little accent.

Double bass is awesome! Why wouldn't you?

octavia_double_bass_by_djdannyc13-d5gj3oa.png

5 and 1/2?

Close to a 6?

Love it. Used to Work on it ALOT. I have used it with bands when appropriate. But I'm not an expert, nor do I have the need/desire to work up to 7.

I'm definitely #7- yep, no doubt in my mind (I'm also extremely modest)....
To be fair- what exactly would make you a double bass "expert" in this regard??
Just because you can reach 2000bpm 16ths, how long and how consistent do you need to be able to play before expertise is attained?