TAMA Superstar Hyperdrive, Maple (2015) vs YAMAHA Stage customs, birch (2014)

kid

Hi Guys,

I need a little help here. I'm planning to buy a new drum set and I'm debating between the tama superstar hyperdrive maple(2015) and Yamaha stage customs birch(2014). I read prior posts on the same topic and gathered that people preferred the yamaha stage customs birch over the older tama superstar hyperdrive which was also birch.

Does anyone know if the new superstars (maple) are good? Which one should I go for? They cost almost the same and are both available in the 6 piece configuration. Since I'm not too good with this, I was hoping someone who has either tried them both, or owns them, or knows about them could shed some light on it.

Thank you so much. Help me make the right choice :)

Between these two, I'd pick the Superstar, mainly because I love the short toms. What kind of music do you play? That makes a difference in the wood type you pick.
Consider the Sonor Select Force S drives. Sonor's version of the Hyperdrive, also maple.

I usually play Rock/Hard Rock, however having flexibility and versatility wouldn't hurt. I usually like having a bassy feel for my toms. I think maple would deliver that better wouldn't it? Also, I haven't ever played those short hyperdrive toms. Could you roughly explain what they sound like? Maybe more attack?

None of the stores here in Canada have the 2015 Tama superstar Hyperdrive available. They'll have to order it for me, which means that the first time I play them, it will be at home. Do you think it's okay to just trust Tama and buy the kit without testing it?

Lastly, any idea why in a similar post earlier, people chose Yamaha stage customs over the older (BIRCH) tama SHD? Was it because they were both Birch and the Yamaha was cheaper? And does that mean that the TAMA now being maple can be considered an upgrade?

Please help.
Thank you so much mate.

Thanks Artstar.