drum snobbery

Chunky

Silver Member
I thought I'd create this thread to get some opinions, hopefully open some people eyes and as a release for other drummers who've been through this.

I'm a drummer, I've been playing 12 years and gotten pretty good (if I do say so myself), I've studied, I even used to teach. There's one problem though: my favourite music is metal.

As a 'metaller' I've been looked down upon by other drummers and musicians like I'm not as good as I play in a metal band. Musicians who I could tear apart technically and they still have that 'I'm better than you' attitude.
I play prog/tech metal and djent mainly, I love nearly all styles of music though and have learned to play them all (atleast to an acceptable degree) but even if I didn't like all the other styles I've learned I'd still HAVE to learn them if I wanted to be accepted in any way by other drummers and musicians.
Why the snobbery?
Jazz musicians often talk like they own the universe, like they are part of an elite.
Well, I've learned to play jazz (probably not to the degree of a jazz enthusiast) and although I can say it's a hard style techncally, it's not harder than the djent parts I learn, or the gruelling torture of learning to play all my rudiments at metal volume.
It's not harder, it's merely different.
It seems it would just kill some people to admit that it's actually a tough style and you need to be equally as accompmished on your instrument as any other style.

Buddy Rich - he's still regarded by many as one the greatest drummers who ever lived.
How? this guy played one style all his life. Yes he was amazing at it but why is it ok for him to play one style exceptionally well and get due credit but metal drummers who learn all styles STILL get looked down upon.