Vintage Ludwig & Ludwig drums

SAINTDRUMS

I recently purchased a 1938 Ludwig & Ludwig kick drum, 14x28, totally virgin and has a beautifully yellowed WMP wrap that is very tight. For those of you who like pictures, I will post some once I get it back from a proper "refresh" - not a restoration. I also am in the process of buying a 1941 matching Ludwig & Ludwig snare in excellent condition. I should have that this weekend and I'll take some pictures of that as well.

I have some questions for the vintage Ludwig guys. I would like to complete this set with some toms - at the very least one up and one down. As I understand it, the toms from the late 30's had a "normal" (for its' time) double flange top hoop and was tunable, but the bottom resonant heads were calf skin and were riveted to a wood ring. Does anybody know the first year that Ludwig & Ludwig went over to the tunable resonant heads? I'm just learning about (and appreciating) vintage Ludwig drums. All I can say is, I think I'm in trouble.... G.A.S. may be kicking in!

I recently purchased a 1938 Ludwig & Ludwig kick drum, 14x28, totally virgin and has a beautifully yellowed WMP wrap that is very tight. For those of you who like pictures, I will post some once I get it back from a proper "refresh" - not a restoration. I also am in the process of buying a 1941 matching Ludwig & Ludwig snare in excellent condition. I should have that this weekend and I'll take some pictures of that as well.