DW DRUMS - thoughts?

KONA

Silver Member
Hi fellow drummers (and dw reps if you're reading).

I'm thinking seriously about buying a second shellpack. The first one being my beautiful Gretsch Renown African Mahogany shellpack I bought last year - nice!, and one of only 60 made. It is an amazing kit so far. However, I have been reading up on DW drums and I actually bought a Collector's Series snare (in Black Oyster Glass) a while ago and I'm very pleased with it.

I keep getting feedback, not only from drummers, but from retailers that actually sell the drums, that they're way over priced. I didn't think my snare drum was over-priced at all. They seem like beautiful well made drums and not any more expensive than top-of-the-line Sonor for instance - that I've seen so far anyway.

Again, I'm only at the "thinking-of-buying" stage right now. They do look like awesome drums. I'm new at this and old too, so I have little time left to collect as many drums and stuff as I can so I can leave it all to my kids (that will sell the stuff at a flee market) when I leave the planet. lol

Thoughts?

DW drums are pretty nice and sound good aswell. I like the overall tone of the shells mainly, but as with most top-of-the-line drums, they're a bit over priced for me, especially being that I'm 17 and have a small budget until grandma passes and I get the car to sell, lol.

I'm thinking seriously about buying a second shellpack. The first one being my beautiful Gretsch Renown African Mahogany shellpack I bought last year - nice!, and one of only 60 made. It is an amazing kit so far. However, I have been reading up on DW drums and I actually bought a Collector's Series snare (in Black Oyster Glass) a while ago and I'm very pleased with it.