Another new (to the site) old guy (55... is that old??)

PremierLover

Thanks for letting me join the site. I started playing back in the early 70's in the high school band. Met a few other instrument players there, tried to get something going, but usually never got off the ground. Played in a few "Legion" type bands in the late 70's/early 80's, but then the mortgage, kids and all that that entails happened, so, out-the-window went playing. Put my Premier set in storage for~30 years, and when the mortgage was paid, and the kids had moved out, I decided to get back into drumming. I've been jamming lately with a bunch of guys in the same boat (different instruments, though) and if we hold it together, maybe we can make a buck or two while having a bunch of fun.

Here's a couple pics of my one-owner Premier Resonator kit from the 70's (see also thread "Show Us your Premier kit" in the "Your Gear" section)

EDIT 12-20-12...Just had my memory "jogged" a bit, and I think these were Premier Elite's, not Resonators as previously stated, "johngraham" pointed out that Resonators had an inner shell to cover the lug hardware inside the shells.

Attachments

• PremierDadsDrumSet.jpg
    PremierDadsDrumSet.jpg
    79.8 KB · Views: 260
  • DadsOldPremierDrumsSnare.jpg
    DadsOldPremierDrumsSnare.jpg
    27.3 KB · Views: 234
Last edited:
Re: Another new (to the site) old guy(55...is that old??)

Welcome. I'm a new old guy myself. I played in the high school band, bought a used kit with money from my first real job (US Navy) and just jammed along to records. Never even played in a group until I was 35 or so. I'm now 56 and have been gigging semi-regularly for the past seven or eight years.

Nice kit.

Last edited:

Love those Premier Resonators. Sweet. Welcome to Drummerworld.​

Welcome! What a classy lookin' kit! I recall seeing the ads for those as late as 1982. It's amazing you've paid off your mortgage, I just bought my house seven years ago so I'm at the bottom of the curve!