Hear me out please.

tom2zip

I want to convince my parents that i want to play drums for a living. They want me to be a doctor (they reluctantly bought me a kit) and I wanted to be one too until a few months ago when I really started to look at drumming as a non-hobby. I want to convince them that I gave up the dream of being a doctor and want to play drums even though I have a part time job at McDonalds or something. I'm sure they are gonna say "That's a bunch of non-sense! Are you joking?!" and stuff like that, but I really want them to know how I feel about drumming. Can anyone help me?

I want to convince my parents that i want to play drums for a living. They want me to be a doctor (they reluctantly bought me a kit) and I wanted to be one too until a few months ago when I really started to look at drumming as a non-hobby. I want to convince them that I gave up the dream of being a doctor and want to play drums even though I have a part time job at McDonalds or something. I'm sure they are gonna say "That's a bunch of non-sense! Are you joking?!" and stuff like that, but I really want them to know how I feel about drumming. Can anyone help me?

Please answer the following questions, as they will help us give you some advice (although, in the end, no one knows how to talk to you parents better than you): How long have you been drumming? What kind of experience (bands, writing, performance, etc) do you have? What kind of time do you put into it? Why do you want to go pro? What else can you do musically (write, produce, sing, arrange, other instruments)? What styles can you play (don't list them all if there are a ton, but are you well versed in many styles, or are you just a rock or jazz or whatever drummer)?

Music was made for folks that wasn't smart enough to be doctors. :) What do you mean? Tommy Lee said that.

Anyway, once national health care kicks in, doctors aren't going to be making much money. :)