Stave snare head recommendations?

Mikedrums78

I picked up a Brady jarrah 12x7 here in Japan recently and was contemplating my sound options for a batter head. Right now I have a coated ambassador on it, which is great! Slightly more open and ringy than the stock Brady dot head.

Has anyone tried a two ply on a stave shell? What did it sound like?

Also, to any other Brady or stave snare peeps, what is your go-to head? Why? Thanks!

Those are fairly thick, yeah?

Anyways, on my 13x5 half inch thick Padauk snare responds to single ply heads much better than two ply heads- partially because it's thick enough (and it has half-rounded edges) to provide all the focus I need with single ply heads. Two plies just generally sound dead on it (works amazingly with G14s/Ambassador X14s though), and I generally control the ring with different hoops anyways.

It's definitely the drum, though, as my COB snare has no such qualms with non-single-ply heads.

Anyways, to answer your question: try a G14/X14 or perhaps a clear Power Center Reverse Dot/Controlled Sound, they sound great as well.

I use Evans Power Center reverse dots on my staves....I had a Brady but also have 2 Unix staves that the Dots work wonders for.

F

Yeah, the PCRD and the G14s/G12s and stuff are kind of two sides of the same coin to me. I liked the clear a little better with the dot, and the coated a little better without the dot. The Remo Vintage A head was also pretty similar to the X14 I tried after it but the X14 was just, well, a better version of the sound. I'm sure it sounds different on different drums.

Maybe try out a coated Powerstroke 3. Single ply but with the built in control ring. Fewer overtones than an Ambassador but not as dead as an Emperor can be on some drums. I love an Emperor on certain snares (brass, metal, oak) but too much on others.
Also, as already mentioned, I second trying out a Vintage Ambassador (thicker single ply)
Report back with your findings!

Neal