Best way to acquire a vintage kit

K

keirik

Buy it when it's new

Wait 36 years

job done

well that's what I did :D

Of course I'm now too old to become a world famous tub thumper

Best way to acquire a vintage kit....Wake up one day and have Keira Knightly give me one after I fulfill the needs of her libido.

Ebay, Craigslist, local ads, music stores. I see them on my Florida Craigslist almost weekly. I would say though to know what you are looking at before dropping a load on a not so vintage set

I have a snare that is 80 something years old. I still feel a sense of awe when I take it out of the case. This drum could have been played in the 30's by some hotshot Jazz drummer during the early years of Jazz then by some dancehall drummer in the 40's and some young rock'n'roll rebel in the 50's.

Yea, I like old drums.

Funny..........
I'm a vintage drummer trying to figure out the best way to acquire a new kit.

THis kit is about 70 years old - I put together with orphaned drum shells.
An amazing kit. I have about $2400 into it and it's well worth that .....to me.

Here is is.
All Gretsch 40's shells that I bought here and there on C/L and eBay over about a year.

I copied the Gretsch Burnt Orange finish but left mine with a Satin finish -no Gloss.
The bd heads are retucked 1930's Ludwig Pioneer calfhide heads...they still sound great....that low grumbling warm tone...lots of punch too.
24/13/16 with a 6.5x14 Gretsch Super Structure (shell) snare.

Attachments

• 1 (Custom).JPG
    1 (Custom).JPG
    169.6 KB · Views: 199
Best way to acquire a vintage kit....Wake up one day and have Keira Knightly give me one after I fulfill the needs of her libido.