Need help with customizing.

PeniScott

Silver Member
I'm bored of having a black kit and i don't have the money to buy a new one when it's slightly pointless really.

Would spray paint stick and STAY on the finish of the shells and also on the hardware?

Also, besides spending loads on an expensive can, is there any way of getting glitter in a colour spray can or mixing glitter with paint then putting it in a spray can?

If it's any use to know, i never use my second rack tom so i can test stuff on that.

xoxo

I'm no pro at this stuff, but I would imagine you would want to remove the black wrapping (I am assuming its a wrap) to expose the real wood at the very least before applying any finish to it. I don't think regular spray paint would do a very good job sticking (to the black wrap), but I believe they make a lot of different kinds of paints and its possible one out there might do the trick. For example, they make paint designed to go over laminates on cabinetry, so finding paint to stick to a very smooth surface like a drum-wrap might not be impossible.

As for the glitter, don't know. I have never seen anything like what you might be thinking of.

I would definitely do some research on this before jumping in head first or you'll end making a huge mess, at least with that one rack tom.

Krylon makes a spray can paint called Fusion that is designed to be sprayed on to plastic which is what most wraps are made of. Taking all of the wrap off can be time consuming and very tricky. I would suggest removing the hard ware, and spraying the drums a solid color or masking off sections and using blue fine line painters tape. Regular masking tape will allow paint to seep underneath and make for a crappy edge. Here are some photos of a snare I just finished. Whatever you decide take your time and don't be afraid to ask questions. The www.ghostnote.com site is a great suggestion.

Attachments

• CIMG0615.JPG
    CIMG0615.JPG
    93.5 KB · Views: 563
  • CIMG0624.JPG