Different grip on each hand

nirvanadrummer

I have been playing set for over 4 years, and I like to think I'm pretty decent. However, I recently started marching band (last year and a half), and I've had someone criticize my technique. She pointed out that when I play fast, my right hand goes to French grip while my left stays pretty well in German. I can control it when I think about it, but I find it hard not to do when I play unrestricted on my set. I use French while playing on the ride, which I know is common. My question is, is it harmful (playing or injury wise) to use different grips simultaneously? A previous instructor explained that it makes it harder to be consistent, but I haven't received any complaints regarding that since my playing has been around the level it's at. Thanks

I stopped giving a toss about mirror image uniformity between my hands when I started playing more traditional grip. When playing matched, my right and left hands don't look identical and I'm totally fine with that. They're completely different when held traditionally anyway, so why should I beat myself senseless if the uniformity is slightly out while matched? As long as the individual hands are able to replicate the sound I want to hear, I can live with the aesthetic disparity.

Far too many great players had hands that perhaps weren't text book images of perfection, yet they still managed to play with more musicality, creativity than most of us, not to mention with technique that was good enough so as not to lead to pain or injury. On a drum kit, I've found far more important things to concentrate on than mirror image hands.

That said, you say that you're also marching. For that purpose, the drum line is often judged on its uniformity, so I would refer back to whatever the teacher/leader requires of you.

I can only assume that marching and orchestral percussion would require a different macro level of precision that kit drumming does not.