Beginner drum set

blossmanc

I have been playing percussion in band on a practice pad for three months now and i want a drum set for Christmas.By then i should be out of the very beginning stage of drumming and im looking at the pearl forum what is a good set that includes cymbals or like $500-600 and hardware so i can just buy cymbals

so, $5-600 without cymbals?

go used...check your local craigslist and ebay..

you can get an intermediate-semi-pro quality set in that range...and it last you much longer than any new set in that range will..

Alex

buy used. You will get more and save allot of money and get higher quality gear.

Yes, buy used. Search for some used gear and show us what you find and we can go from there on opinons on quality, cost and sound. Good luck!

craigslist + ebay + local newspapers + music-go-round (if you have one nearby) = cheap great drum set

you will be far happier getting a decent used set than a new beginner set. The best beginner set in the world will never live up to the sound quality of an intermediate kit. A few scratches on the drums are far better than bad sounding drums.

Dont forget your local music stores too - they usually carry trade ins or may have a board for private postings.
But, yes - used! - and good hunting!

And if ur stuck with knowing if a kits is any good used - come back here and we sure will try to help.

IMO, if you buy a kit that is any less quality than the Yamaha rydeen, you will end up buying again soon, just as it says above. Saving $100 on some no-name Wal-mart kit is asking for trouble.

USED or RYDEEN. Don't skimp....you'll be sorry if you do.

Newbie here but old school drummer...