Vintage Slingerlands

sethlowden

Hi there, checking back in again about more drums I am kicking the tires on. I got some pictures of some Slingerlands a guy has for sale. He says they are from the 1950s. I hope to go look at them before long. They may have potential, always hard to say from small pictures. I don't know anything about the tom mounts on old Slingerlands, do those look stock? Comments, observations welcome. I have benefited greatly from info here, and always appreciate it greatly! Thanks!

Attachments

• clslingies.jpg
    clslingies.jpg
    27.1 KB · Views: 746
  • clslingies2.jpg
    clslingies2.jpg
    12.6 KB · Views: 649
  • snarecl.jpg
    snarecl.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 743
I am not a Slingerland expert, however, I would say NO. I seriously doubt that gigantic metal plate on top of the bass drum is original. I would further suspect you will find a great gaping hole it is covering up. Also, the little I know of Slingerland would probably guess these in the mid 1960s.

Maybe I am wrong, I do not know slingerland drums.

I bet you are right about the age of the drums. I think that the tom mount might be original though. Looks a bit suspect but I have seen photos of similar big plates on the bass drum.

Now that you mention it, the bass drum looks pretty darn small...

If the badges are unmolested, that's the primary way to tell. Chicago goes through '59 or '60, and Niles picks up right after that. So that blue sparkle snare - assuming the badge is original to the drum - is a '60s (or later?) snare.

But the '50-60 era Slingys are nice, mahogany shell with tall maple rings. If the edges are good, they'll sound warm and punchy.

Bermuda

I've seen Sling tom mounts like that, so I doubt it is a replacement. Here's my take on this kit: