70's Ludwig Vistalites

poika

Silver Member
Here's some pics of my Vistalites up and running.
22x13, 16x16, 13x9. The12x8 is not pictured since it sits on the shell. No use for that one.
The snare is an Acrolite.

I restored this kit last year, it was in pretty bad shape after years of neglect. Not a collector's set by any means, this thing is meant to be played. Hard!

I got an Ambassador on the snare, Vintage Emperors on the toms and a Powerstroke 3 on the bass drum. Ambassador resos all around.

The cymbals in the pic:

-60s New Beats
-Istanbul Mehmet Traditional ride 20"
-Istanbul Mehmet Nostalgia Crash/Ride 21"
-Dream (Bliss?) 20"

I'm starting to really get to know this setup, it's a joy to play and sounds really good!
Looks pretty nice too, though it's definitely not for everyone.

Attachments

• imag1097.jpg
    imag1097.jpg
    155 KB · Views: 720
  • imag1086.jpg
    imag1086.jpg
    130.4 KB · Views: 642
  • imag1087.jpg
    imag1087.jpg
    133.7 KB · Views: 610
  • imag1089.jpg
    imag1089.jpg
    114.4 KB · Views: 651
  • imag1095.jpg
    imag1095.jpg
    142.9 KB · Views: 606
  • imag1098.jpg
    imag1098.jpg
    133.7 KB · Views: 625
Thanks for the compliments!

Yes, it is indeed closer to 13" than 14"
Only because it had to go through some very special tender loving care :)

The front of the bass drum had gone through some rough years without a head or a hoop, so it was pretty much busted.
I had to saw off a little to effectively true it.

There was also a crack going almost through the entire shell. Someone had tried fixing it with the wrong kind of glue, so I cleaned that up and got some of that proper stuff.

The bearing edges are still evolving, at the moment I have them at 45 inside with an outside roundover sanded by hand

Attachments

• rsz_ludwig_vistalite_basarit_11.jpg
    rsz_ludwig_vistalite_basarit_11.jpg
    313.5 KB · Views: 606
  • rsz_ludwig_vistalite_basarit_9.jpg
    rsz_ludwig_vistalite_basarit_9.jpg
    241.2 KB · Views: 593