I'm about to give up on my snare

SergiuM

I just got new heads (Vintage Emperor+ Ambassador Hazy) for my Yamaha Stage Custom Advantage Nouveau snare. I've been messing around with it for about 6 hours trying to get a DECENT sound out of it. It either buzzes like crazy when struck or i eliminate the buzz and get absolutely no sensitivity. I've tried tons of head combinations, cranked the snare head really tight, loosened the top head, and everything in between it seems. Nothing, it all sounds terrible.

I'm really thinking about buying myself a new snare. Is there anything else i can try? Is there any hope for this snare?

PS- I'm fairly new to drum tuning but i looked into a decent amount of sources and tried the tuning techniques described, with no success.

To get an awesome snare sound the bottom should be cranked, I'm talking almost 3 full turns from finger tight. Then tune top to whatever pitch you want.

I learned this method off of a video and haven't had a bad sounding snare yet. Use your own judgement on the bottom head sometimes I only go 2.5 turns. Hope this helps you out, let me know.

Try experimenting with tuning more give more difference between the top and bottom head, I find (using a Drumdial) about 90 on the top head and 80 on the reso to work on most snares or at least a good start for my tastes. also try different snare attachment methods like thinner cord or grosgrain strap or mylar strap. then check your wires, getting better quality wire can make a huge difference. also check your hoops for being flat and round and shell as well, any of it gets out of wack and it can sound awful.

Are you sure that you have your snare wires on correctly and not up side down?

After checking on this:

You might want to try removing some of the center snare wires leaving 6 on each side, equally.

Like this: It will help with the "buzz" and get some more distinguishable shell tone to come through.

Attachments

• equilizer.jpg
    equilizer.jpg