Practice and creativity

TrueCarpet

Hey guys, I have been playing drums for around 6 months now and have just started getting serious about it. I've been practicing for around 5 hours a day just doing things like learning jazz( like the past two days) , practicing rudiments, learning songs, and independence exercises ect. But something that keeps on nagging me is the fact that what if im learning all these things and i'll just become uncreative and wont be able to create anything on my own? Which basically is what music is about right? creating your own thing. I don't wanna be that kid from high school who could play every song ever on his guitar but cant jam because he cant improvise.

So does practicing to much or learning to many things destroy your creativity? Or is it the exact opposite?

I just jam every Saturday with my friend so i can learn to improvise and everything and he tells me i'm really creative with my fills and beats but would that even be enough to stop the loss of creativity if you really did lose any from learning to much?

I think if anything having more technique would allow you to be more creative by applying the different patterns that you have learned around the set in your own way. But definitely the best way to be creative is with practicing in a band with others.

I don't think there's any correlation between practicing and loss of creativity. Practicing is very important if you want to be in a band and want to stay in one. The creative part comes from really engaging your brain in playing the drums. If you're really fixated with drumming and music in general, it'll show in your enthusiasm, uniqueness, and appropriateness of your playing - basically, your drumming "personality."