Need help picking out a new kit.....

trumansnare

Hey,
I am new to the forums, but im hoping everyone can help me here.

I am looking to buy a new drum kit, I am looking for a decent sounding kit with a decent price tag (around $1,000 is my price range) and a great look. Im not a beginner drummer, ive been drumming for years. But I have always had shabby drum kits with good equipment and its time to get a better drum set. Currently I have a tama rockstar 5 piece.

Ive been looking towards a 22" bass (22x18,22x20 either way). A rack tom (maybe a second rack tom) and two floor toms. (preferably decent sized floor toms 14, 16) I don't need a snare, I have a pork pie that I am really happy with. All I am looking for is the shell packs.

My problem is, finding a decent drums set for my price range, with good looks. I either find a bunch of cheap sets, or a couple nice ones with terrible finishes.

I was originally looking at a ddrum dorian ash. But the ash isn't really for my style of music/playing. (metal/somewhat technical playing style). Then I saw the ddrum AMX series. They looked alright, and for a decent price. But I have heard some bad things about them and other middle and lower end ddrums.

Ive been looking and looking and looking, and im coming up empty handed.
I really like fade, burst or solid finishes with wood grain. Black or black nickel hardware. (chrome is ok too)

If somebody could please help me out here, I would be really thankful.

hi! and welcome to the forum!
um............... about ddrum! i don't know alot about them but i do know alot of players from pearl, tama etc have moved to ddrum! most of them are playing the dominion line.
i think the bad hardware is only on the diablo and there lower lines?

anyway i would recommend the mapex pro m!
i have not played one yet but haveheard alot of awesome things about them but no bad!

do you want a maple or birch?

some other kits: