Sonor 3005 vs. Gretsch Catalina vs. PDP 805 vs. other?

DroDrum

Hey everyone,

First of all, i'd like to thank everyone on Drummerworld for providing tons of useful and interesting info for me. I've been browsing the forums pretty much daily for a couple months now, and have had a ton of questions answered, and have learned tons of new tips and techniques which have helped me in my everyday drumming endeavors. All of this without even creating a thread! Thanks.

Anyway, on to the topic of the post. I've been looking in to getting a new drumset for awhile now, and was looking for some advice in doing so. First off, a little background:

I got my first drum set when I was 12. I took lessons for about a year, and due to I assume loss of interest (I can't remember the exact reason..) I quit. I resumed playing at 19 because one of my good friends had started writing songs and was really interested in starting a band, so I complied, figuring I could wipe the dust off my old drumset and try to remember some of the stuff I had learned 7 years prior. That drumset is a "Tama Swingstar" 5-piece, with a Paiste 301 Crash, some Sabian Crash (recently bought) and a Paiste 301 ride and hi-hats. The set sounds decent, but we are going to start doing gigs in the near future and I don't think it will be good enough for doing live shows with (also, the heads in both my rack toms have holes in them : /).

I'm 20 now, and its been about a year since I resumed my playing. Basically I'm looking for a kit in the 600-900 range or so, and I've been doing some research on here and some other sites. It seems like my best options would be the Sonor 3005, which is running for about $800 on ebay right now, the Gretsch Catalina 6-piece, which is running for 750$, and the PDP x7, which is running at 800$ as well. I think i'm going to keep my current cymbals so I think all I would need is the shell-pack.