Just gotta vent!

Hey all,I'm a 42 year old drummer/percussionist that has played every genre on music and like most drummers in every situation imaginable.I have 30+ years of playing my instrument under my belt and cherish playing with competent musicians,I can really apprciate a great guitar rif/solo as well as respect and understand most other instruments and their parts in a band situation.Please bare with me ...I am getting to my point!!

I can play guitar,a bit of piano,can get by on bass and I sing quite well...
My point is that I have just joined a jazz quartet and all of the musicians are very competent players both in theory and practical playing so why is it that there seems to be a trend that for the most part other players of other instruments know ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about drums and their role in music?????
I had our guitar player look at my snare the other evening when tearing down and he politely asked "what are these metal wrinkly thingys under there"? of course thinking he was simply joking I let out a chuckle then he say's to me "do you hit those things"..well ..I'm not professing to be a master of music but it seems to be contagious as our piano player said that same evening "just play something with those wire things"meaning brushes.

Has anyone (and I'm sure the answer to be yes) experienced this sort of "DRUM IGNORANCE"??? I'm very curious to hear other opinions and personal experiences on this matter.
This concludes my Tuesday rant!
Just goes to show everyone just how well rounded drummers are as musicians!!

Cheers, Bif