"You're a drummer? Oh can you play..."

rogue_drummer

Gold Member
...(insert song title here).

Just something funny on a Sunday evening.

When random people find out you play drums, do they ever ask if you can play a certain song, or fill from a song?

Right around when "Wipeout" came out, I was a beginner drummer, 11ish. Whenever someone found out I played drums, I always got asked the question if I can play Wipeout. Drove me nuts. Lol

Dude, people still get asked about Wipeout.

In 7th grade (2000) I had been drumming less than a year and my peers would ask me if I can play wipeout.

Which is funny, I wasn't good at it for years, not because of lack of chops, but more of a fatigue/speed issue then anything. Freaking single strokes at high speed on a floor tom.....

Yeah, it was always Wipeout for me too.

Funny thing, a few weeks ago there was a guy about 25 years old playing drums at the jam and he had no idea what Wipeout was.
At first it drove me crazy, but then later on I realized, of course at his age he would not know what that song was.

Now people usually ask me if I can play any Led Zeppelin songs.
How do you sit down by yourself on the drums and play a Led Zeppelin song?
Usually all I do is play the levee groove.

Definitely been there.. In several instances the person asking has no concept of how music works let alone drums. They don't understand for the most part popular music is in 4/4 so essentially if you can play a 4/4 beat you can play anything. How you play it, the fills, the groove, the embellishments that makes the difference between a drummer and a great drummer and creates the sound of certain songs.

As far a 'Whipeout' goes I haven't been asked to play that or if I can in about 15 years.

Kevin

Not too long ago, someone asked me if I could play "Bleed" by Meshuggah.

I told them not without 6 months of working up the double bass hairta.