5x14 Acrolite

OrangeAgent27

Silver Member
Ok, first off! My deepest apologies to everyone because I know there is dozens of threads on the Acrolite on here but I couldn't find exactly what I wanted. I'll delete this once I get some answers.

I'm in the middle of a barter with a guy on a Ludwig Black Galaxy for $90 plus $16.00 for shipping. Thing is I have no experience with these snares. I have a Pearl Chad Smith snare and Catalina Maple, but I am always hearing good things about the acrolites so it makes me curious.

The snare is listed as "Great" condition but my question isn't a "should I buy" it's more of a "what to expect"? Is this drum versatile for jazz, country and swing? Should the 5" depth worry me because I usually only hear about the 6.5". All in all, is the Acrolite really what its cracked up to be? I wish I could play it but the deal is online.

Sorry again for posting this fellas. I just have a short amount of time to respond to him.

I have no personal experience with this snare, but I recall forum member Wavelength playing one in this video as a side snare. This may give an impression. Perhaps he can shed some light on its performance.

I owned one of these snares and they're awesome. I literally could not tell it wasn't a Supraphonic even when they were side-by-side. Very versatile, not very heavy, a great all-around workhorse snare. I'd get another one in a heartbeat if needed.

Yeah, the Arcolite is a great All-around snare. You can use it for anything.
The nice thing is, if you wish to swap out the P-85 sometime, the P-86 fits the same hole pattern.
Same with the lugs. Want tubes down the road? No problem. Imperials, no problem
Tubes look great with the Black Galaxy finish.

I'm going to put Imperial Lugs on my 6.5 Acro.
I like the Bowtie style it has (I put them on a CM snare), but Imperial lugs would look great with the Black Galaxy finish.