Anyone just play "for the fun of it?"

Dignan

Silver Member
I'm fairly new to the forum as I am getting back into drumming after an almost 12 year dry spell. I currently spend my precious and rare drum time practicing rudiments, watching instructional videos online and immitating and playing along to some of my favorite music.

My question is do many drummers on this forum just play because they enjoy it or are most professional musicians or part time giggers?

I played in a very casual "band" in high school and that was the extent if my "gigging" experience or playing with a group. My life does not currently afford me the opportunity to find another band or do any organized gigging. Im married with 2 kids under the age of 3. Thats basically 3 strikes against me on that front. I wouldnt have it any other way but just sayin.

I have an old beginner kit (embarrassed to say the name here) that ive done my best to outfit with good heads and informed tuning. I have good cymbals and a decent snare. I also built a good practice kit that I use more because of sleeping children. I enjoy it and want to get better but may never play in an organized group to be honest but am not opposed to it if one day I could. So is this normal? Anyone else like me in this respect?

With the exception of my not actually having a kit (one drum and a practice pad) I am in the same boat. It occured to me that I want to do it because it feeds a part of my soul that has been neglected for many years. I think that, for the most part, drummers that play professionally had to reach that place before they...made it. Playing an instrument for any other reason (to earn a living, for fame etc) has to be secondary or else one might not have the drive to overcome obstacles.

Just my two flams.