how to use Stick Control

CJM

How do people use it? how do teachers recommend using it? Stone says do each exercise 20 times and move on. But at what speeds should you be proficient before moving on?

My teacher had me focus on one half of a page per week.

Goal was to do them all at the same tempo. So just set the metronome to whereever you are comfortable and gradually raise the tempo.

The rigid thing about 20 times each is a little silly. I'm a drummer. I can't count that high. :)

Hi
I did the whole book about 40 years ago(it took over 3 years)...I currently use it for myself and students as follows:
Half note equals 90 BPM(slower tempo for students)
Page 1
Read the Line
Then follow with 4 rights and then 4 lefts
Next
Page 1
Read the line
Then follow with 8 rights and then 8 lefts
Next
Read the line
Then follow with 16 rights and then 16 lefts

Next pass
Page 1
Read the line and play single stroke 16th note roll to a 5 count

Next pass
Read the line and play double stroke roll.

Then I finish my warm up with 16th note single stroke roll...half note equals 90BPM. 1st with a right start and then with a left.
Denis

Goal was to do them all at the same tempo. So just set the metronome to whereever you are comfortable and gradually raise the tempo.

The rigid thing about 20 times each is a little silly. I'm a drummer. I can't count that high. :)

Welcome to Drummerworld. I see you're new here, but please use the search function to keep things uncluttered. There is a thread already created with 296 posts on the subject.

http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17751&highlight=stick+conrol

Stone did write "20 times" for a reason. Endurance is a key element as is control.

Welcome to Drummerworld. I see you're new here, but please use the search function to keep things uncluttered. There is a thread already created with 296 posts on the subject.

http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17751&highlight=stick+conrol