Finally practicing again - why do I facepalm.

ktz

Hello everyone!
I'll quickly introduce myself (I know, this is boring. Feel free to skip to "tl;dr"): I'm 25 years old now, I started playing drums when I was 17 but I never had a kit at home (or close to) to be able to practice consistently.
I've been mostly practicing on pillows, my legs, living beings, flying bears and so on, but never on a real kit. The only time when I had the opportunity to play a kit, was at my band's reharsal.

Now, why did I bore you with this? Because some months ago, I bought a Roland TD9, placed it in my bedroom and started practicing on it (I can't say I like it... but it's good enough for practicing semi-silently I guess).

Now, since I started practicing, I started being VERY disappointed from myself. Basically I realised I have no concept of techniques whatsoever. I realised I cannot double stroke roll, I my endurance is just laughable, my left hand's fingers are usueless concrete sticks.

I'm working on it. Syncopation, Stick-Control, trying to practice at least 1h a day. I'm trying to fill my gaps as much as I can, but some things make me feel like I'm not capable of doing this, really.

I'll start with something that you might find just funny.

tl:dr:
While practicing the finger technique with my left hand, the stick keeps sliding forward, making me lose the balance point and eventually having to re-grab the stick from the beginning.
Any idea of why this could be happening? It doesn't with my right hand.

Also, let me include a simpler question. What makes me suffer the most, now, it's how slow I am/feel. I believe that getting decent at double strokes will give me a big boost in that regard (do you confirm, anyway) but do you maybe have some suggestion about the exercices to do to increase hands speed?

Many, many thanks.

Dan

Welcome to the forum!