What drum/cymbal/piece of gear have you owned the longest?

Midnite Zephyr

Platinum Member
I thought this might be a good idea for a thread. What have you held onto (drumming related) the longest. It can be a book, a pair of sticks, or something like a drum tuner.

Mine is a swivel-style Ludwig drum tuner. I've had it since I first started playing drums (34 years ago), and I have always managed to keep that thing in my possession. It stays in a little bag now in a lock box with a few other trinkets that I've collected over the years. It's probably not worth much, but it's very sentimental. I've had my Gretsch snare drum almost as long, but the tuner has it beat by a couple of years.

My '65 LM400. It was my old mans spare so I've been banging on it in some form or another since I was old enough to hold a stick. I seemed to inherit it permanently when I started playing around with others in my teens. I've always been grateful for it as having it meant I've never had to play on a crappy snare in my life. I treasure it to this day. If I had to give up all my gear tomorrow, that 400 would never leave me.

You all know me - nothing seems to last very long in my house. But when I think about it, it's probably both my Reunion Blues all leather cymbal bag and stick bag. I've had both now going on 30 years! That's a record!

Unfortunately (I guess), I'm like Bo and all my stuff is easy come easy go. The 2 things that have lasted the time (12 years) are a Zildjian Stick Bag and a non branded (quite crappy) cymbal stand, that I only have because I forgot to give it to the person who bought my first kit off me.

Apart from that, I have a Paiste 400 ride cymbal, which is a mid-level cymbal that I absolutely love, it's loud sound suits my playing, and I've owned that around 8 years.

Good thread.

Elements of my Dad's 1940's Ludwig Set. Bass, snare + hi hats and mallets.