I've got two months to learn Jazz drumming.

Aleksandr

I will try and keep this short and to the point.

I've been drumming for eight years now. I am currently drumming in two hardcore punk bands. I have been playing in hardcore punk bands for around four years now.

In two months I will be trying out for my colleges Jazz band. I have always wanted to be able to consider myself a Jazz drummer, and I believe this to be my first step toward achieving that goal.

I think of myself a pretty decent drummer as is. I have never played in a Jazz band before, and I don't know enough of Jazz currently. I also need to learn how to read music. I was thinking that picking up a couple books would be a good starting place, could anyone recommend any? Is there a premier Jazz drumming book?

I was told by the Jazz band instructor that I needed to demonstrate efficiency in rock and swing jazz.

Two months is a short period of time, but I think I will be able to pull through with enough practice. Wish me luck.

More than anything else, listen to tons of jazz. A book that might help a lot is John Riley's "Art of Bop Drumming".

A hardcore punk drummer, who needs to learn how to read music, and be a convincing jazz drummer in 2 months? I don't know of any book that can do that. Good luck. Seriously. Good luck. Not that you CAN'T do it, but it's going to take almost every minute of that two months to accomplish something that takes years to do.

Here I am wishing you luck. I hope you are able to pull it off. Let us know.

Listening to jazz is the most important thing to get the swing feel. Also, look up recordings of different drummers playing your audition materials, and use some of the stuff that they play for your audition, as well as create some of your own ideas to make the piece sound great. Also, the Riley book is great, I have been using it for quite some time with my private lesson teacher and it is a really good book. I wish you the best of luck on your audition.