PDP or Tama?

7DaysToTheWolves

I'm split between purchasing either a PDP FS 6-piece that comes with stands and all, but I'd still have to buy another bass drum and floor tom.
471233jpg.jpg

Or a Tama Rockstar shellpack 8-piece that DOES come with all the drums I want.
540277jpg.jpg

I've heard they're both great kits, but I've got no experience with Tama other than my iron cobra pedals, where I own a PDP currently.

I wasn't sure if I should go a different direction and try a different brand or stick with the one I know. Honestly, I'd like to know which set has a deeper tone and sounds a bit more fit for the metal genre.

Thanks.

I haven't owned the kits you're looking at, but I started with a crappy little Tama Stagestar, and then got a PDP 805 (which I am trading for a ddrum Diablo, but that's another story).

I know that that the PDP kits, especially the one I have, are good for metal. Not sure about Tama.

personally. i would go with the Pacific....

mainly cause its birch...not basswood/poplar or something...

it will have a better sound, and it will be a good kit...

not saying the tama isnt a good kit....all Tama's kits are built to last, so dont get me wrong..

Alex

personally. i would go with the Pacific....

mainly cause its birch...not basswood/poplar or something...

it will have a better sound, and it will be a good kit...

not saying the tama isnt a good kit....all Tama's kits are built to last, so dont get me wrong..

Alex

Wood doesn't matter as much as heads.

I would go with the Pacific for the wood.

I disagree that wood does not matter as much as heads.

Yes you can put good heads on a crapy kit and make it sound ok.But put good heads on a great kit and it will sound great.

Why would you settle for mixed low end wood vs 100% birch?

Dont get me wrong TAMA builds great kits when you get into the Starclassic line. Then you are compairing a Pacific mid levl kit to a TAMA pro line kit and the price tag that goes with that.