Buying First Drum Kit

Okashira

Hello everyone, I've recently joined these forums because I've taken up an interest in drumming and am looking for advice on purchasing my first drum kit.

I am a complete beginner at the moment but I hope to find a kit that will last me as I develop my skills and I would eventually be able to play metal with it.

My budget is around $1400 at the moment.

Thanks in advance!

UPDATE: As of now I am currently torn between the PDP Concept and Mapex Meridian (both maple). Any info to help me decide between them or a better alternative is appreciated!

Last edited:
Hi Okashira and welcome,
This is a question that is asked a lot (like, every other day). You will want to spend a good part of your budget on cymbals. One kit or the other in the same price range is not a difference of day vs night. If you page down in this section of the forum, you can find suggestions faster than we can repeat them here for you in reply. If you have further, more specific questions on beginner kits, don't hesitate to ask.

Used, used and used. Have you checked Craig's list or other places to buy used? For your price range, it is the best bet. For that budget, is that just the drums? What about cymbals and hardware (hi hat stand, bass drum pedal, throne, stands for drums/cymbals etc)?

and as is mentioned above this post, you'll want to NOT skimp on the cymbals. Cheap cymbals are a complete waist of money. You have to buy good cymbals either used or new. You can buy cheaper drums and put good drum heads on them to make them more than serviceable.

Good luck!

One possible setup to save for:
Yamaha stage custom
Zildjian k custom hybrid cymbal pack
Double kick pedal

You can get a used kit with everything on your budget but I like new stuff.

Yes I have been looking around cragslist and ebay for a bit, but I decided to get advice before I jump at anything.