Picked up a 14x6 1/2 Mapex Brass Master snare last night

ineedaclutch

Platinum Member
So... this thing weighs almost as much as my 3yo. Sounds killer though. I have been using a stable of Supras for several years with no regret, but I have been looking for something different for my all snare kit (4-5 snares with my 20 SCM kick). I also picked up a mid 60's Ludwig Pioneer about a week ago which is also killer for a fat old school marching snare sound without taking up all of the space. Doubles as a pseudo floor tom on this kit. Phone pictures; sorry. Just thought I would share. I don't post pictures of my gear usually, but I will make an exception. This time.

Attachments

• download.jpg
    download.jpg
    47.2 KB · Views: 1,600
I just moved so I don't really know where any decent cameras at the moment. It looks more scuffed up in the picture than it does in person. More importantly though it sounds fantastic and is exactly what I was looking for in my all-snare (less kick) kit.

I just moved so I don't really know where any decent cameras at the moment. It looks more scuffed up in the picture than it does in person. More importantly though it sounds fantastic and is exactly what I was looking for in my all-snare (less kick) kit.
Sounds interesting. Carry on! :)

Nice looking snare. I'm gonna go ahead and withhold any adjectives like "beautiful" and "Sexy" till I see some better pics. I'm sure Stix is with me on this one.

The cell phone camera should do fine, it just needs some natural light to show off in.

How does she sound? Not too choked with those die-cast hoops on there?

Sounds interesting. Carry on! :)