Electronic drums

Duster367

Hi guys,
I need a little help. I am about to move to a new house and I will not be able to play my drums there so I am looking in to electronic drums. I'm no pro drummer but I have played on and off most of my life. I'm only staying in the house for a year so I don't want to spend 2 or 3 grand on an electronic set that I'll probably sell. Can anyone steer me to an affordable kit that I can build on? I want to have at least three rack toms. I've been looking around and none of the sets I see say anything about being able to add on. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Top of the range Alesis DM10 with or without surge cymbals might suit your needs.
Think you can add one, at least two extra instruments, and more if you get adventurous with the setup of the thing.

They draw mixed reaction...I bought a DM8 Pro about six months ago an genuinely couldn't be happier with it in terms of 'bang for buck'

I would suggest a set with foam or mesh pad for the snare at least. Those black pads can be hard on the hands. Also, you might consider buying the most you can afford. Being able to play at any time, in any place you live is huge. I have an electronic set for practice and while I would much rather play the acoustics, I now practice way more than I aver have.

Hmm this is a tough call...

I know you don't want to spend too much with your anticipation of selling the kit. But keep in mind that the more expensive kits will hold their value as long as you buy used. In other words, I would much rather recommend buying a nicer used kit (Roland TD-9 or better) than to buy a brand new cheaper kit and have to resell it at about half the price.

Therefore (the way I see it) you can either buy a cheap new kit and lose money in the end or spend more up front and get most if not all your money back in the end.

Ex.:

New Cheap Kit - $1000 (sell it used for around $600)

Used Higher End Kit - $1800 (sell it used for $1800 in a year)

Two words