Focusing on finger control or wrist control?

cantstoplt021

I thought that one thing I needed to work on big time was finger control.. I'm relatively new to drumming and I'm really trying to work on my stick technique (as well as independence) because it's the main thing holding me back. I play traditional and I noticed that my fingers do very little when I'm playing faster things. It's mostly just wrists which I don't think is the correct way to do things. With my right hand I have some control over the fingers, but with my traditional hand there has been very little. I mostly just lock the fingers and use my wrist. Now I don't think that's correct. It seems to me that since the fingers are directly in contact with the stick they are probably pretty important in terms of control.

I saw some other threads where people were saying to just focus on wrist control and that finger control will just come naturally. Is this true? Should I just focusing on getting my wrists up to speed and then worry about fingers or the other way around? I'd like to be able to play fast, but I would also like to have good control over the stick.

Oh and I can only play singles at about 125 bpm cleanly without tiring out or sounding uneven. Pretty slow I'd say.

You and I are in a similar boat. The bits of advice I am qualified to give are:

Schedule some time with a professional teacher that can evaluate, correct, and steer you in the right direction. It only needs to be a 30m to 1h session. It only needs to be once every one or two months.

Practice on a variety of surfaces, ranging from pillow-soft and ending with cranked snare tension. Soft surfaces force you to develop good technique as you're having to get the tip away from the surface.

Work on your double stroke roll. You need a strong double stroke roll with good even notes for any of the other rudiments to come together. BillB and others have a wealth of videos on how to get this going.