Losing grip of my sticks

rossgordon

I play in a touring hardcore/punk band. I've been playing drums for 6 years, but lately have been having a problem with my grip. The past two sets I've played, halfway through I was struggling to keep a good grip on my stick with my right hand. I don't know if anyone has any tips on holding the stick differently. I took lessons for a year and was taught proper grip. Any tips would be appreciated

I play in a touring hardcore/punk band. I've been playing drums for 6 years, but lately have been having a problem with my grip. The past two sets I've played, halfway through I was struggling to keep a good grip on my stick with my right hand. I don't know if anyone has any tips on holding the stick differently. I took lessons for a year and was taught proper grip. Any tips would be appreciated

Have you tried putting a layer of electrical tape/grip tape on the handle?

Welcome to the forum!

I'd suggest trying some different sticks - similar/identical in playing feel but providing better grip due to a different finish.

I would recommend using Zildjian dip sticks:

http://zildjian.com/Products/Drumsticks-and-Mallets/Maple-Series/5A-Maple-DIP

I think there are other brands out there that have the same stuff.
I play punk/hardcore and use 5B's. After an hour of playing I feel less fatigue VS. the other sticks I once used.

The other suggestions work also but sometimes the adhesive comes out and that bothers me. My band mates used to joke around about the amount of flying sticks I used to have.

I would recommend using Zildjian dip sticks:

http://zildjian.com/Products/Drumsticks-and-Mallets/Maple-Series/5A-Maple-DIP

I think there are other brands out there that have the same stuff.
I play punk/hardcore and use 5B's. After an hour of playing I feel less fatigue VS. the other sticks I once used.