Advice about drum grades

Jonathan Curtis

Silver Member
Hi all,

I'm starting drum lessons again shortly, and am planning to take my grades. I have a few questions and queries which I would appreciate a little advice on.

Firstly, in the UK we have to Grading Bodies: Rockshool, and Trinity Guildhall. From what I can tell, Trinity is the more "prestigious" of the two, with Rockschool being a little more modern and simplistic. Is this correct, and does anyone have any experience of these two exam boards?

Also, I have been drumming for about 11 years. 4 or 5 of those have been serious, with between 2-4hours a day of regular practice. I play in bands, gig and record, so I am pretty experienced in the drums. How will I find fitting in to the graded syllabus? Should I just start at Grade 1 for the sake of completion, or start at something more my level? I feel I would be at or above Grade 8 for some aspects of my playing, and perhaps lower for other aspects, so I'm not really sure what to expect.

With the amount of practice I do, what sort of time line would I be looking at for the completion of my grades?

A little advice and information about this would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Jon

EDIT: Just to add, I will of course find a very good drum teacher for this.

hey well ive been doing grades my teacher does the rockschool ones so i dont really have a comparison. tbh youd have to be a very good drummer to play grade 8 my teacher is very very good and is just doing his 8 now and we talk about it and there parts where he struggles.

but my advice is to go to a shop ask to look through the books then get a teacher play a bit ask his opinion on what you are capable of as well as giving your opinion on what you think you are capable of and hopefully you can come up with a realistic target.