Skills not developing.

ludakot

Hello everyone, I've been reading these forums for a while now but I finally decided to register and ask a question myself.

My skills just don't seem to be improving anymore, I've been playing for about 1 1/2 - 2 years, can't exactly remember when I started. I find that I just get stuck in a rut and play the same songs all the time, and even when I'm not playing songs I just play the same beats and fills. I do try to learn new songs but I find that it doesn't help much anymore, learning songs is a great way to improve as a beginner but at some point you have to start doing a lot more. I haven't noticed any improvement in months. A teacher would be great for me right now but it's not an option at the minute. Could anyone recommend things that I should be doing/learning to progress at a faster rate? I wish there was a plan laid out somewhere with things to practice and play, but things are never that simple!

Thanks.

In either instance an investment must be made. You can either invest in DVD's and learn from those, or you can hire a teacher. Personally, I would hire the teacher maybe every other week to start, he'll surely come up with stuff for you to work on and guide you down the path of drumming enlightenment.

But if you absolutely have no $$$, then it'll be difficult to train yourself especially if you don't know where to go or what to do.

Yes, this kind of situation usually requires someone with more experience to guide you through.
Some stuff you might be able to do on your own that usually help a lot with conceptual development is learning musical theory, specially in regards to rhythm and drums. Do you know how to read and write music? If you do, work more, transcribe harder stuff, take that interpretative skill to the limit and then work on the tough stuff you're transcribing; difficult stuff to write down is rarely easy to plaay, and even harder to play to a pulse if it's displaced or in odd groups.

Fox.