best kit for the money?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was looking around and cant really decide which would be the best kit for the money, so far my choices are Pacific platium, Mapex Saturns and tama b/b EFX. are any of these good or are there other choices I could be missing? Thanks.

I can't speak for the PDP or Mapex but I have the Tama Starclassic B/B in Gold Crush Sparkle. I love the kit, it sounds amazing live, in the studio and at home. You cannot go wrong with the Starclassic B/B.Excellent!

All 3 are excellent choices. I'd say, in order of quality, Tama, Mapex, Pacific. Quality for the cash- Mapex, Pacific, Tama. I have a Mapex Pro-M that is indeed "pro" in every aspect, and my Pacific CX kit sounds fantastic and was a great bargain. I've no experience with the B/B's other than they're a bit pricey, but I'm a Tama guy from way back, and their quality on all their lines have been great. You can't go wrong with any of your choices.

I got a wicked deal on my kit, so I would vote SC performer too. In my opinion they're just as good as Pearl masters and MCX. SC maple and bubinga would be equivalent of reference series.
I think the performer B/B's sound amazing for all applications. They have a wide tuning range high, medium and low tuning sound great for the toms. They're my best choice of kit that I would buy as a 5 or 6 pc shell pack. As opposed to a more expensive kit I would be spending like 4 grand on a SC maple 2 bass drums, 5 toms, etc. Only real difference is unique sizes and many more finish options.

It depends on where you live, different brands are different prices depending on your country. Example: Tama's prices are through the roof here in Canada, yet Sabian cymbals are significantly cheaper than US prices.

Pacific Platinum's are great. Take a look at my pic's if you get a chance.