natural talent vs.hard work

joeysnare

Silver Member
im one of the more senior drummers in the music scene in my area. we have a few up and coming kids in town who are just phenominal players, raw natural talents who are just as good as me if not better. both have been playing for under 3 years and im going on 12 years and have had to work my arse off just to get where i am now and i mean WORK HARD!
keep in mind there is no envy on my part, im just fasinated by these kids, their playing , stylistic choices and technique are amazing to me and both are self taught players. is it just genetics that makes these types of drummers? or perhaps the enviroment your brought up in? (my father was a gigging drummer ever since i can remember) ive had to pound drumming into my noggin and these guys just seemed to "get it" right off the hop. pehaps intelligence is a big factor as well.

I've struggled a little with this as well. As a classically trained drummer/percussionist I was amazed at what these guys with no formal training could come up with. However, I've found that by in large if you get outside of rock/funk/hip-hop, these guys are lost. Jazz/Latin is not in their bag of tricks.

I've struggled a little with this as well. As a classically trained drummer/percussionist I was amazed at what these guys with no formal training could come up with. However, I've found that by in large if you get outside of rock/funk/hip-hop, these guys are lost. Jazz/Latin is not in their bag of tricks.

I think that also depends on a person's surroundings both culturally and socially. You naturally emulate what is presented to you.

I have no doubt some people just have natural talent, while others have to work very hard to get to the same point, and many people are somewhere in between.