Acrylic Drums?

phishfrenzy

Hi, I am new to this forum. I have been playing on a Pearl Forum for the past 11 years and I modified it quite nicely. I got better heads, cymbals and hardware and it sounds great. I've been playing drums for 21 years and that was my first real kit. I'm on the market for a new kit however. I've been looking into the Pearl Masters BCX, but out of curiosity I decided to check out a few acrylic kits. I'm debating whether I should go with birch or acrylic shells.

My advice for what its worth is to go with wood drums if you plan on gigging out at all. I am sure there will be quite a bit of differing opinions on this, but first hand experience has shown me that constantly transporting of acrylic drums will result in cracking the shells. I have seen a number of acrylic drums with cracked shells. I had a tech (for The Band Perry's touring drummer if I recall correctly) tell me that touring with acrylic drums isn't a matter of IF you will crack a shell, but WHEN.

I love the look and the sound of acrylic, but the durability issues have been a major reason why I never purchased one.

Acrylic drums have a particular sound to them that is rather unique. they are not for everyone, not only for the player, but the listener.

My advice for what its worth is to go with wood drums if you plan on gigging out at all. I am sure there will be quite a bit of differing opinions on this, but first hand experience has shown me that constantly transporting of acrylic drums will result in cracking the shells. I have seen a number of acrylic drums with cracked shells. I had a tech (for The Band Perry's touring drummer if I recall correctly) tell me that touring with acrylic drums isn't a matter of IF you will crack a shell, but WHEN.

I love the look and the sound of acrylic, but the durability issues have been a major reason why I never purchased one.

+1