How long from complete beginner to gigging?

lowdowner

I realise that this is a 'how long is a piece of string' kinda question, but I'm new to drumming and am practicing for an hour or so every day. I used to play bass so I'm OK reading music and rhythm. How long is it going to be before I could gig with a band at a level that wouldn't be plain embarrassing? Am I talking months, years?

I want to play a mix of stuff - classic rock, some folk, just a range of covers etc.

What has been other people's experience of this?

It depends on how hard you work at it. If you practice every day for at least a couple of hours, you'll be ready before you know it.

I got my first drum when I was 12, and I joined my first real band when I was 14.

Totally depends ... raw talent goes a long way to speeding up the process ... some people could never be good enough to gig, no matter how much they practiced. Best thing to do is record yourself to see how well your grooves are working.

It was a long time ago, but I think I went 3 years from absolute beginner to playing my first gig, which was in a pit orchestra for a musical theatre company.

That seems crazy to me now, all these years later. I guess I didn’t suck, or they would’ve found somebody competent, but 3 years seems like nothing to me now.

But I don’t think you can really go too much by other people’s experiences. There’s just sooooo much variation in practice time, general musical background, peer/family support, etc.

It’s okay to push yourself time-wise, but drumming is probably the most physically complex thing you’ll ever do, and it ain’t easy. So don’t beat yourself up if it takes longer than you’d like to nail whatever groove/fill/lick seems to be holding you back.

Go at your own pace. Keep up the regular practice, and you’ll get there.

It was a long time ago, but I think I went 3 years from absolute beginner to playing my first gig, which was in a pit orchestra for a musical theatre company.