Advice after first public performance

A

Abhishek

Hey

I've been learning drums for about two years (being on and off in between). Last week, a couple of friends asked me if I wanted to join their band, and participate in an inter school competition. I agreed, and and we practiced for about 5 days (we played Trooper and Die Dead Enough).Didn't expect us to win as this was the first time we ever jammed together (and the first time I ever seriously jammed with anyone).

We didn't win anything, and we decided to ask the judges for some feedback. One thing they mentioned to me was that as a drummer, it was my job to make sure the whole band is going together, and to keep it tight, and at times I wasn't doing that (maybe I wasn't, Trooper is a fast song). Well, what I want to ask is, how do I work on being tight, being on time, keeping the band together. Is it something that comes naturally as you play together more, or is there something I can do to work on it. The guy who won the best drummer award (he played Hell's Kitchen and Pull Me Under and was amazing!!) was perhaps the only one, who didn't try to show off, and was the only drummer to actually groove. Did talk to him a bit, and I now really want to give a performance like that.

Thanks for the advice in advance.