Tinnitus (ear ringing)

rogue_drummer

Gold Member
Does anyone else suffer from Tinnitus, or ear ringing?

I'm sure I've thoroughly screwed up my hearing over the years by not wearing hearing protection. In fact my ears are ringing now a bit as I write this. And it only increases with alcohol consumption.

I started playing drums in 1972 in beginner band and when I got my first drum set, I banged the daylights out of it, without any hearing protection. Continuing all the way thru junior high band on thru HS. Then aroiund the same time hitting the shooting ranges shooting .45 autos without hearing protection (ranges didn't require them back then as they do now), now drumming again since 2007.

So to preserve what hearing I have left, what's the best protection out there now for drummers to use? I can use the standard foamy ear plugs, but aren't there other types of hearing protection drummers can use?

What do you guys use?

Thanks!

I started getting concerned about hearing protection when I started playing loud music a few years ago. I chose these on a recommendation from a fellow musician and love them. They maintain noise reduction across the frequency spectrum, so unlike foam plugs that distort the sound, the music sounds the same except quieter. http://www.etymotic.com/hp/er20.html

I use the Baby Blues (normal fit). They have larger sizes in other colors. They also have an "HD" version, which I don't recall seeing when I bought mine.

I have a severe case of Tinnitus. I have had it a long time. It has gotten a little worse over many years.

YES, protect you hearing !! Do it NOW.

For listening to loud bands and when playing the drums I use ear plugs made for musicians. I got then at Sam Ash Music store. They are specifically made for music. They have several different inserts for blocking different high frequencies. I use the maximum protection inserts.