Best way to learn a song?

oEndwaRo

So i just got a drum set about a month back. I am at the point where i want to start learning songs. So whats the best way to do it? I haven't learned tabs yet because i view them as pointless. But what i have been doing is downloading Guitar Pro Tabs and using the notation on there. So whats your guy's opinion?

Thanks.

By listening, memorizing and then put it into drums, continuous practising. It works for me.

Cheers,

By listening, memorizing and then put it into drums, continuous practising. It works for me.

Cheers,

I don't agree with one thing there. The word memorizing. Drumming shouldn't necessarily be about memorization. He should feel the song when he plays it and should be able to contribute to the song rather than play exactly what the initial drummer plays. That's just my opinion.

I've had a lot of experience with playing to songs. The first thing you can do is become familiar with the song. Know all of the pauses, breaks, and critical points. Listen to the song everyday and work at the song at the kit everyday. Start from the beginning and if you make a mistake, start over.

You'll nail the song in no time.

I learn songs by listening and playing air drums. I like to write down notations that remind me of the progression of the song. I sometimes take lyric sheets and make my little notes under the lyrics and in the margins. I can read music a bit, (I can't sight read) I very seldom work with a music sheet. I mostly just use my memory.

Start simple and *listen*.

Pick a few songs that you really like but have very simple drum parts. The Beatles, AC/DC, etc. During the day when you're not practicing, listen to the songs a few times - they'll be in your memory when you sit down to play them. After a few days of this you're able to marry what you've been listening to with what you're doing, physically.